The Journey Begins

Hello there.    I have been a Delphi developer for the past 15 years.   I love the tool and the language.   However, I fell into a trap that I’ve only recently freed myself from.   I was so enamored with Delphi, that I refused to learn any other language and tool.   I had forgotten that being a software developer and programmer meant I could use any language to develop systems and solve problems, and the tool doesn’t matter.

How did I come to realize this?  Well, if Delphi were still alive and doing well, I probably would still be on the Delphi kick.   However, it is slowly dying on the vine, and other languages like C#, Java, Objective C, and Actionscript (Flex/Flash) are more prevalent. Delphi might have a revival with cross-platform and 64-bit features on the horizon.  Until then, however, it would behoove me to broaden my horizons and get some experience with other languages/environments.

The first language/environment that I will tackle is Visual Studio 2010 and C#.   I have done some ASP.Net development with Delphi 2005 – Delphi 2007, but in the Pascal language.   I have also taken a class in C# and played around with Visual Studio 2008, but I have not developed a real program.  I have some books that will introduce me to the language, and I have a project in mind that will involve ADO.Net access to SQL Server.  I will first write the applicate with ASP.Net, then WPF and then Silverlight (not sure if WPF and Silverlight are the same).

As I go along, I’ll post some tidbits about my experiences, and maybe some coding samples.

About loong

Male, 40, married, computer programmer. Like Sci Fi, Music, Martial Arts, computers.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Journey Begins

  1. loong says:

    Don’t count Delphi out as yet. It will outlast C#. It now supports 64-bit, Mac OS X, and iOS. Web apps suck…

Leave a Reply

